GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Pamela's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid school ( 3000 KES) and the rest to buy building materials and build a house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I was living in a thatched house but now building an iron roofed house. I have also reduced the burden of school fees.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay my son in secondary school fee. I also used the remaining portion to medicate my son who was sick.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build an iron roofed house because currently I'm living in a leaking grass thatched house. I'm also planning to pay my child in secondary school fee.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a decent iron roofed house since our house is in a bad condition. We also plan to spend some portion of the amount on farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
We are proudest of owning a home and sending our children to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Our biggest hardship has been to raise sufficient school fees since we are both jobless.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because that is the time I cultivate my farm hoping to get sufficient farm produce.