GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lydia's Profile
Lydia's family
Lydia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($442 USD)
access_time 26 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My new goal is to further my studies. Recently I completed a certificate in hairdressing and beauty therapy course and my plan is to do a diploma course in the same. This will equip me more to my ultimate goal of opening a cosmetics shop that will help me meet the needs of my family in a much more easier manner. I am so much focused on saving enough money currently in an effort to raise enough to achieve this dream.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion GiveDirectly does very well in terms of choosing people who benefit from the program. The level of transparency in enrollment process was out of this world. This was something that I saw and appreciated a lot about GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I used KES 36000 to buy a dairy cow and used another KES 6000 to buy furniture for my house. and used the remaining amount to install piped water in my compound. We made a decision to buy a dairy cow since we did not own one before and I had really felt the heat of having to buy milk all that while. It was so costly buying milk but we did not have an option since we could not raise enough money to buy one. My husband works as a casual worker and the little amount of income that he received would just be enough to make ends meet and pay school fees. I just graduated from school and I could do very little to help my husband.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the transfers around six in the morning while still asleep. My appetite for sleep got lost because I was overwhelmed with joy. I immediately I called my husband and relayed the good news and he came on a short notice and we immediately executed our plans.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is owning a dairy cow which I had desired to have after the previous one died but couldn't afford. Nowadays, my day is more preoccupied than before because I have a dairy cow to look after. I have also started planting nappier grass in order to ensure my cow has adequate feeds.I have also furnished my house with modern sofa sets and now my home is more cosy than before. My house is also well lit because of purchase of a new battery after the old one got spoiled.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent 340 USD on a dairy cow which is now four months pregnant because we had one before but fell down and died abruptly about one and half years ago.For the past close to two years we have buying a liter of milk a day at 50 shillings which is quite costly given that we are in a rural setting.We used to rely on my husband who works as a security guard in the City because maize crop had been adveserly affected for the past five years. I spent 110USD on two 3-seater sofa sets because I didn't have any and used to depend on my neighbors for seats when I had visitors. I spent the rest on a solar lighting system battery because the one I had got spoiled about a year ago.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My life here since this long have been buying milk for my children,from my neighbor where have to spend around 3000 shillings in a month.Receiving this money I buy milking cow at a cost of 20000 Shillings to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My daily duties is house chores which I always begun this once I wake up.At midday when have done with all my duties and have time to rest under my compound shade with my children playing around am very happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship have face here is insufficient food.Being a mother of two, I don't have income am struggling to get food to my family.I only depends on my husband who is doing casual jobs where somedays he can fail to work due to Covid-19,where people are at home doing all there work.