GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Samwel's Profile
Samwel's family
Samwel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Samwel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on an oxen, 15000 KES on a cow, I paid secondary school fees for my son with 7000 KES, I spent 3000 KES on clothing and the remaining 5000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
GD has increased the stock of my wealth; more livestock-cows and oxen. And I don't need to be worried anymore when in problem, since I have a safety net in place, the biggest difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 1200 KES of my token payment on 2 iron sheet then I paid 3000 KES school fees for my son, and invested 2000 KES in maize farming. Finally I dug my latrine using 3800 KES of the transfer.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to open a kiosk where I can sell things like soaps and sugar/ low order goods using my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my child who is in secondary school and the remaining amount I will use in buying tools that I will use in my stone quarry business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to take my child to school up to secondary school level using cash that I have been getting from my stone quarry business and farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income is very low and this at times makes it difficult for me to raise school fees for my children as they are usually sent home for fees making them to stay at home for almost a month.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the quarry site in the morning and I am able to get a customer to buy my stones for building then this makes me happy as I am able to buy food for my family for that day.