GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($465 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on ploughing and growing sugarcane in my two acre piece of land, and I am hopeful that I will benefit from it when I harvest. I also constructed a cattle shed. They used to sleep outside, and they were always prone to diseases. This is no longer the case as they are now well sheltered. The remaining amount I spent on buying sheep to add to my livestock.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 30000 KES of second transfer to buy a dairy cow that i sell its milk to get income,i spent 12000 KES to buy iron sheets that i used to construct a new house,i bought one sack of corn that cost me 3000 KES for my family consumption. I invested the remaining 5000 KES in our fmily business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that i have a dairy cow that i milk,sell and get income,our family business is also progressing well.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token to buy 3 goats KES 9000, a basin KES 450 and food KES 500.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house and buy 2 sheep with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Am planning to use part of the money to build a two roomed house for my children then extend my current house and plaster it. The remaining balance I'll use to buy goats and cows for farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is I bought two cows out of selling my sugarcane.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is I don't have a stable job hence sustaining my family is very hard. I sometimes sell firewood to be able to provide for my family's needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am looking after my cows.