chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Reuben's Profile
Reuben's family
Reuben
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
32
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Reuben's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at work when I heard a message notification on my phone and on seeing the message, it was the transfer that had been eagerly waiting for and I was very happy.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
When I got the accident, I was able to pay off the medical bills. Without the transfer I would have been forced to sell a cow to foot the bills since I did not have any money and at the same time, I have not been able to work to earn some money. I have also completed a house I was building but had stalled for a long time due to financial constraints. Thank you so much GiveDirectly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I had an accident on a motorbike while I was headed home and got badly hurt. I therefore used the transfer to pay for medical expenses where a plaster was put on my leg.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
One of my top desire is to give my children the best education that I can. I have 4 children who are currently in school. I decided to take them to the best academy where they will face stiff competition from other learners to give a competitive edge. Raising their fees is an uphill task for me. I pay 15000 shillings for each child and this translates to 60000 shillings for all of them annually. Receiving this money will mean a lot to me as it will enable me to realize my dream
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am always happy in the evening because this is the time I am home with my family. Helping my children with their homework is a job that I take with so much pride. Sharing a meal is equally fulfilling.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
One of the greatest challenges we face in this region is persistent drought. This makes it hard for us to get safe drinking water. I walk for up to 6 kilometers in search of this important commodity. After getting it, I have no other means of carrying it home other than on my back. I make 6 trips in a day to get enough that can last me the whole day. This leaves me with a lot of backaches that usually give me sleepless nights. I have thought of relocating to another area all together but it is too expensive since it involves buying land. All that there is to do is to persevere and hope that one day this challenge will be a thing of the past.