GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Caren's Profile
Caren's family
Caren
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
60
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
47900 KES ($466 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to pay school fees for my daughter who is taking a course in early childhood development education. I am happy she going to clear college without borrowing and selling charcoal like I used to. Using the remaining amount,I spent on repairing my house that was in a very bad condition. It is now very neat.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is seeing my daughter complete her college without any arrears. I am so grateful to God and to GiveDirectly for the transfers.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($97 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying a bag of maize 3,900 KES for the consumption of my household . I gave my child who is in college 2000 KES to look for some documents that were needed for bursary requirements.I also bought household utensils too.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the money ,I felt very happy since I had no food in my household through that month and we could only afford food once in a day.I am thankful to GiveDirectly for empowering my household financially.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay college fees for my daughter who is undertaking a course on early childhood education. I also plan to buy iron roofing sheets which I will use to replace the current ones I have because they have become old and are leaking. Finally I plan to buy an ox and a dairy cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been a successful farmer who planted groundnuts, yams, maize and sweet potatoes. The proceeds from the sale of my crops enabled me to educate my children after the death of my spouse.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to pay school fees for my children and grandchildren who are orphans. If I am unable to raise the required fees they may drop out of school.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up because I get to praise the Lord and ask him to bless my family.