chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Dama's Profile
Dama's family
Dama
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dama's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($544 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is owning the livestock which include the 8 goats and a cow which previously I had none. I am expecting that they will reproduce and increase in number and help me to raise the capital that I need to start a business in future that will generate income to my household. I really believe my life will never be the same again even when GiveDirectly is through with the project in our village.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 6 o'clock in the morning when I saw the message from GiveDirectly that my first transfer had finally been sent into my Mpesa account. At first I could not believe this because I had never received such a big amount of money in my life. I was so excited and thankful to them for the financial support.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying livestock which include a cow and 8 goats. I am hoping that with time they will both reproduce and increase in number. I am also planning to sell the offspring in future so as to generate capital in order start a business of my own to earn an income. I will also be benefiting from the milk that the cow will be producing. In addition to buying livestock, I also bought enough foodstuffs for my family which could take us much longer unlike before where we used to take one meal per day or go without. I am happy that through the financial support, I can afford three meals a day. My children had stayed at home for some weeks due to fees arrears that I was not able to clear because of financial constraints. Thus the transfer enabled me to clear the outstanding fee arrears for them to be allowed back to school.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Subsistence farming is my main source of livelihood but it is quite unreliable because of poor rainfall. I therefore supplement my income through harvesting aloevera which earns me around 700 shillings in two months. It has always been my desire to achieve a stable source of income that will meet my family needs with ease. Receiving this money therefore means starting a grocery business in my village, which I am sure it will thrive because of the current drought. Besides, I will purchase oxen to scale up farming and also hire them at a fee. This will enhance food security in my family, which I believe it is the only way towards meeting other expenses like education, medical and clothing.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I undertake very heavy duties during the day that wear out my energy. Harvesting aloevera is one of the cumbersome activities that I engage in, in order to provide for my family. I hardly get time to rest and this worsens the pains in my leg. However, in the evening when I am done I sit with my family to take supper. This helps me to relax my mind and regain the lost energy, making evening the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I got an accident in 2017 that fractured my leg to an extent of being bedridden for one year. This situation drained my financial resources as I used all my savings to seek treatment. Even after recovering I still cannot work comfortably because I sometimes experience pains. It is very difficult to provide for my six children because of financial constraint. Sometimes they go without food something which stresses me a lot . my two school going children have never owned a pair of uniform since they began schooling. The only person who could help is my husband but he is too old to work.