chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Justo's Profile
Justo's family
Justo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
37
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Justo's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 18000 KES on 30 iron sheets, 10000 KES on timber, 4500 KES on nails, 2500 KES on labor and 10000 KES on starting a second hand clothes business for my wife.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I own a house that I never thought I could build and my wife is also running her own business. This has greatly improved our living standard.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying iron sheets.I also paid school fees and bought maize for my consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on building an iron roofed house.I also want to add capital to my fish business and my wife to her clothes business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use the first transfer to build my own house , I have children and the house is small plus I have my first born daughter who is married and am not able to welcome my own in laws in a small house it will be embarrassing. The second one I w
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am so proud of is that in the past I had owned a fishing boat .
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship currently is financial constrains and not being able to pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I do work that brings me income this not able to be so stressed but occupied.