chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Angelina's Profile
Angelina's family
Angelina
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
57
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Angelina's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20,000 KES to construct a bigger house, paid school fees for my child in secondary school for 5,000 KES, bought a sheep for 3,000 KES, bought a bag of maize for 3,200 KES, bought a cow for 15,000 KES and cushions for my seats for 1,400 KES. The rest was spent on daily food expenses.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to construct a bigger house which can comfortably contain my family and our belongings. We do not squeeze into a tiny space any more.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to pay secondary school fees (4000), bought a bag of maize (2000), a sheep (2000), a chair (800) and food (1000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build an plaster my house and buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails and iron roofing sheets which I will use to build a better house for my family. The remaining transfers will be used to pay school fees for my son who is in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having joined a women's support group and eventually bought some sheep with the savings I had accumulated.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to renovate my house.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am from working in my farm.