GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
24
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I have been staying with my husband for five years now but he had not paid my dowry as traditions require of him, so most of my third transfer I spent on that. My husband bought some cows and carried some cash that was taken as my dowry payment. I can now say that I am legally married as per our traditions.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying iron sheets, nails, steel door, windows, timber and poles. These were my priority since I want to build an iron roof house and relocate from this small thatched house we live in.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is living in peace with my husband and children.We can afford school fees and food for our children without straining so much.Thanks to GD.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,000 KES to buy sofasets , used 2000 KES in paying school fees for my children and the remaining 2000 KES i spent on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to use the second transfer in building a bigger house for my family and use some of it to pay school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to build iron roofed house because my house is leaking. Secondly l would wish to buy household items. Lastly l would like to pay school fees for my children who are in nursery school and really having fees problem.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that we have struggled and built our own house though grass thatched.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper shelter since my house is seriously leaking
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when my husband is back safely from fishing.