GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on David's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I added some of my cash to first lumpsum and bought chairs at 15000 KES, steel door at 9000 KES, bought a mattress at 3500 KES, paid a school fee of 4000 KES and boosted my business using 25000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have a stable business which provides us with income.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 4,250KES school fee for my five children and the bought ten iron sheets at 5,400KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to extend my house, cement its floor and walls and then buy cows with rest of the money.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying cement that I will use to renovate my house and I will use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that in the past I used to stay in a house made of iron sheets but I managed to get cash from our savings and lending scheme that enabled me to build the house that I currently stay in.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that I don't have a stable source of income so it is a big challenge for me to take care of my family and provide for them their basic needs during this tough economic times.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when my family is having food to eat in the evening as this makes me feel that they are happy to have food to eat.