chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Moses's Profile
Moses's family
Moses
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
60
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I paid school fees of 40000 KES, gave my wife 5000 KES for grocery business and spent the rest on food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have new goals of building a house and schooling my children which I did not have before receiving transfers.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in our lives is having a source of income and having paid school fees for my children in college and secondary school. My children are not chased home for school fees.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($495 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 30000 kshs to pay school fees for my child in collage, l also use 8000 kshs to dig latrine and the remaining balance l use to build kitchen.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was so much stress on how l wanted to pay school fees to my child and now l am relived.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees, and bought a matress and beddings
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees for my children. I also hope to construct a kitchen and a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children who are in secondary school and college, I will also buy cement and sand to repair my floor.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having educated my children up to secondary school level and college level, and I am still educating them, this was possible because I farm and sell the produce to get their fees.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of money to pay school fees for my children some of whom are in university, college and secondary schools
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning, this is because I usually take my porridge in the morning and it makes me feel no hunger for the rest of the day.