chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
24
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Loice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 21 bags of cement at 15,540 KES, six tins of painting oil at 3,850 KES, used 1,610 KES on transportation, a lorry of gravel at 3,500 KES, paid 11,000 KES labor charge, 3,500 KES debt, bought a sack of maize at 2,800 KES, used 3,800 KES to boost my retail shop business, gave 2,000 KES to my husband then used the rest to buy clothes and shoes for my children and I.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I no longer keep repairing my house because its walls and floor are cemented.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying murram and sand.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on plastering my house.I also want to buy chairs and paid school fees for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees, buy livestock like sheep and cattle and to buy general household items that I lack.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is that I am a proud mother. Taking care of the kids, ensuring they go to school, cooking their meals and just generally ensuring they're okay brings me joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of a sustainable income source. My husband is disabled and quite incapacitated.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around mid morning when I relax here in my home made shop waiting for customers.