chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Judith's Profile
Judith's family
Judith
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on plastering my house.I also paid school fees for my child and bought 1 sack of maize.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a small business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a strong iron roofed house.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 30 iron sheets at 19,500 KES, 36 roofing poles at 5,760 KES, nails at 3,500 KES, 30 wall poels at 4,800 KES, paid 9,400 KES labor charge, used 2,000 KES on food for the workers, paid 1,000 KES school fee for my children, used 1,500 KES to erect a pit latrine then used the rset on food for the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now in a very spacious house which allows me to accommodate visitors.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Bought household items
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Repair my house
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new iron roofed house. Secondly l would wish to buy cows to help in future. Lastly l would like to open up a business to generate income to support my family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that is we have struggled to build our own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is of money since some time we can look for casual work to and fail to get any.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is when in morning when working in my farm.