GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Katana's Profile
Katana's family
Katana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Motorcycle or bicycle taxi
faceAge:
28
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Katana's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 month ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My mother gave birth to me outside a Wed lock. After 10 years of singleness, she decided to get married to a different person. I was 10 years old by then. Unfortunately, my stepfather did not accept me so he keeps on mistreating me. This made my mother undergo depression for a long time. Later she decided to purchase land and build a house for me so that I can live separately from them. My 2 young cousins also decided to join and live with me. Since this happened, life has not been easy because I have to work (as a taxi driver) and provide for the 3 of us. Receiving this money means a stable source of income for a family. I am planning to spend 80,000 KES building a 4 rooms semi-permanent house for business. In a month I can make an appropriate 4,000 KES which is enough for our basic needs. Other than that, I will use the remaining amount to pay school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
One of my cousins with whom we live together completed her primary education last month and performed very well. He scored ( 381/500) which I did not expect. This brought a lot of joy to me because I was the one paying school fees. This shows clearly that my hard work was not in vain.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of support from my parents is the biggest challenge I am currently facing. Since my parents decided to separate me from their household life has never been the same. I have to work as a taxi driver at my tender age and provide for myself and my 2 cousins with whom we lived together.