GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Janet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
workCampaign
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Janet's next check-in.
 
22nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($27 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I live with my three children in my grandmother's house. By the end of next year, my goal is to have completed building my own house. Once we've settled into our new home, I intend to use the transfers from GiveDirectly to purchase more goats, pay for my children's school fees, and buy food for our daily sustenance. I am hopeful that these goats will multiply and increase in number hence grow into a huge flock which will in future be traded for cows and in turn provide a financial security for emergencies in the future. If needed, I can sell them and use the proceeds to address any unexpected issues that may arise and needed attention.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
In pursuit of securing financial stability for my family's future, I allocated $25 to purchase a goat, with hopes that it will multiply and eventually be traded for a cow. My aspiration is to become a livestock farmer, particularly focusing on cows. Currently, my family and I reside in my grandmother's house as we work towards building our own home. To contribute towards this goal, I invested $30 to buy iron sheets for the construction of our house. Despite the strain on our resources, ensuring my children's well-being remains a priority and so, I allocated $18 to purchase food, replenishing our depleted stock. I then set aside $20 to settle a school fees debt for my children, ensuring they can continue their education without interruption when schools resume. Unfortunately, my son fell ill, which needed a visit to the hospital and had to spend $4 to address his health needs. I am happy with the progress that he has made as he now plays with his friends. Finally, I used the remaining $5 to buy soap and body oil for my family, prioritizing hygiene and cleanliness.
 
18th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($21 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My primary goal is to invest in livestock, to serve as a source of income. The plan is to buy and resale hence financial financial stability. Additionally, I hope to use the cash transfers to embark on a journey of personal development and growth. Currently residing with my parents, I aim to build my own house, establishing a haven of privacy and comfort for my children and I.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I'm a single mother of two. Receiving these cash transfers from Givedirectly has been a turning point for us. In the past, life was was full of difficulties, and paying school fees for even one of my children was impossible. Recently I bought two goats at $60 from the cash transfer this was a step towards financial stability, goats being a potential source of income. With another potion of the transfer, I decided to prioritize the well-being of my family by buying a mattress worth $20 putting an end to the uncomfortable nights of sharing one mattress with my children. With the remaining $22, I paid school fees and bought other basic items for my children. The unconditional cash transfer from Givedirectly has not only improved our immediate living conditions but has set the stage for a more hopeful future. I'm so grateful for the assistance.
 
14th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($23 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My primary goal is to provide a stable and secure home for my six children after my husband and I separated, leaving me with the sole responsibility of their upbringing. Currently, we are living under my parent's roof, and I believe that building our own house is essential for our long-term well-being. To achieve this goal, I am committed to commencing construction by the end of this year. I have made a financial plan to save at least $20 from my monthly transfers towards this endeavor.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
As a single mother facing responsibilities of providing for my children after my husband and I separated years ago, life had been an ongoing struggle. The constant worry of putting food on the table and paying school fees weighed heavily on me, often forcing my children to miss school. However, with the timely assistance from GiveDirectly, my life took a turn for the better. With the recent transfer, I was able to allocate $15 for my children's school fees, providing them with the education they deserved. Additionally, I invested $10 in purchasing a goat, which not only secured our future but also symbolized a glimmer of hope. I allocated $4.70 towards buying essential groceries, ensuring that my family could enjoy regular meals. Furthermore, I started a small vegetable selling business with $5, generating income to support my children. The immense gratitude I feel towards GiveDirectly is immeasurable, as it has alleviated a significant portion of the burdens I've been carrying and brought newfound stability to our lives.
 
10th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am a single mother with three children and two are school going. I live in my parents house and I depend on my mothers farming for income. I also have a grocery business which also supplements her income. I would like to get other sources of income as well as support my mothers farming. My plan is to get two cows by end year each at $20, a male and female cow. The male cow will mainly help with ploughing the farm lands. The dairy cow can be milked and the milk sold for profit. I also believe the dairy cow will also get calves which will add to our flock.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Our place is usually a desert but we have recently had rain. This means we have overgrown grass all over and makes us prone to lurking danger like snakes. I unfortunately fell victim to so a snake and was bitten in May, the Givedirectly transfers were so beneficial since I was able to go to hospital and get treatment at $10.in the month of May. My surviving that incident was because of Givedirectly. I spent my transfers to also get some animals, I had taken a goat on loan and paid off $15 to the seller from my March transfers and in May I made a deposit of $15 for a goat worth $20, I also got two chicken at $8 in April. I have a business selling vegetables, I added $5 to the business from my April transfers. I have 2 children in school, I paid $10 in March and $10 in April to cover their school fees. I was also able to get toiletries in March and April at $4 and $6 respectively. I got food in March, April and May at $5, $5 and $9 respectively.
 
6th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
To support my daughter's education as a single mother, I have been considering the most feasible venture I can start. I have set a goal to buy and raise two cows and seven goats by the end of 2024 from monthly transfers. I am confident that if I am successful in that venture, I will be able to sell both cows and goats to generate additional income because they are valuable and have a ready market. As a result, it will not be as difficult for me to support my daughter's education as it was before I started getting my transfers. I will be able to supplement our diet with free milk from cows apart from selling the cows to raise money.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Since my husband and I separated, I have been raising my two daughters, Juliana and Penina, alone. As a result, I constantly struggle to raise money for their tuition fee. I thank God that since I started receiving the transfer, I am at peace because I am not bearing more burden. I have been using my transfer to help with their tuition payments. Every month, I pay $15 to help reduce fee arrears, and for the past four months, it has helped cover their unpaid fees. The rest I used for obtaining food, which has helped me to sustain my family of three. In addition, I spent $5 from my December transfer to start my vegetable-selling business. It is slowly picking up, but I can raise $5 after every two days.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
The Organization is definitely doing a great job in my opinion because it has literally been a ray of hope for us back in the village. This is because most of us were in debt and could hardly afford to feed our families but now there is significant change all over the village which has elevated our living conditions.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I realised that I had received the funds I opted to buy a goat because I really wanted to invest more in growing my farm. The goat itself was KES 4,000 and unfortunately I had received a mere KES 3,000 from the Organization. Luckily the seller and I came to an agreement and I decided to pay a deposit of KES 2,500 this time round with the promise of finishing up on the debt as soon as I got money. Afterwards, I decided to use the balance of KES 500 I had remained with and paid tuition fee for my daughter because it had been a week since she was kicked out of school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I could not figure out what was causing everyone I interacted with that morning to be so happy. My phone had been off for over 12 hours, and I had not realized that I had received my transfer. I was overjoyed to discover that I too received my transfer as soon as I charged my phone. In my heart, I knew my hour of visitation had come, and that from then on, I would be free of the financial difficulties I had been experiencing in my life.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
At first, I could not clear fee arrears for my daughter who is in the upper class in primary school. As soon I confirmed my transfer I was able to pay off part of the fee. As a result, she was able to report back to school without delay. Previously, I thought of borrowing some little money to ensure that she does not miss several days in school. I thank God that with the GiveDirectly transfer, my worry was diminished, and more at peace than before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
With the help of my recent transfer, I managed to pay off part of my children's fees and they are currently learning comfortably. This has left a positive mark on my life since my children have not stayed longer at home like it used to happen before. As a result, I have been relieved from my financial stress. I am so happy and grateful to GiveDirectly for enrolling me in its program.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I want to own a house, to have a home I can live in comfortably with my three children. I separated from my husband many years ago and I had to come back to my maternal home, I had nowhere else to go. My grandmother gave me a room in her big house but I feel I have overstayed. I want to build a two-roomed house and the only way I can do this is if I set aside 1500 KES from the transfers monthly till I have enough money to kick off the project, my budget is 50000 KES. As I save the 1500 KES the other half will go towards food and other basic needs. Once I have my house I will then think of investing in livestock, and buy a few herds of goats and a cow.
What is the happiest part of your day?
You cannot imagine the joy I have now knowing that I do not have to wake up very early in the morning to go look for water. I just have to walk a few steps and fetch the water in need. It has been pouring and luckily we have a small pond that accumulates water. I am happy that for the next couple of weeks I will not have to hustle for water.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financially I am constrained since I rely on charcoal vending as my main source of income. In a month I can make about 1200 KES. This amount is not enough since I am a single parent with three children and one of them is in school. To make ends meet I have to make trips to Kaloleni so that I can buy coconuts and hawk them around the village. It means I have less time with my children since most of the days I am out in search of greener pastures and it gets overwhelming at times.