chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Tabitha's Profile
Tabitha's family
Tabitha
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Tabitha's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 34,000 KES school fee for my three children and my sister's child, bought two mattresses at 6,500 KES, six plastic chairs at 3,000 KES, one wooden bed at 2,000 KES and wall poles at 4,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My children are eating well because am doing some small fish business that brings income for my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on paying secondary school fee for my child for 5,000 KES and buying water storage tank and utensils for 5,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on construction of a new house and also buying livestock
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on building a house, I will pay school fees for my children, I will buy chicken, goats and sheep so that I can rear. I will also use part of the remains transfer to start a small business of selling fish.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have always been a good farmer and I used to rear chicken.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life currently is that I don't have a house and because I stay in a rental house, during end month I find it difficult to get house rent.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when my children are with me in the house in the evening when we are having supper while telling stories.