chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
64
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a lorry of sand at 6,000KES, four still windows at 12,000KES, one still door at 7,000KES, paid 5,600KES labor charge, 500KES transportation fee, one sheep at 2,500KES, used 2,500KES to split fire wood, gave 5,000KES pocket money to my grandson in the university, am still having 3,000KES cash, and I used the rest to prepare food for the workers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am eating healthy and dressing smartly, I also feel very alive.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to pay my son in collage fee. I also purchased foodstuffs for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to cement the floor of my house because it is earth and requires frequent repairs. I'm also planning to fix windows with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay fees for my son who is supposed to join a college but is unable due to lack of funds, I also intend to hire a Carpenter to install a window in my house and the rest of the transfers I will use to pay school fees for my grandchild who is in secondary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having joined a women's support group and used my savings to buy furniture for my house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is that ever since my spouse died in 1969, I have been the sole breadwinner for my children and grandchildren but I am getting older and with my failing health I fear that they will not be able to sustain themselves.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday especially after taking lunch, whenever I have lunch and rest I always feel refreshed.