chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Claris's Profile
Claris's family
Claris
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
faceAge:
30
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I plan on building a house because a home is all I have always wanted. I have been living in a poorly covered house that could barely shield my family from all kinds of harsh weather, especially when it rains. Getting this house will make me so happy because I will have made a step forward and my family as well as my own life will have improved. That would mean I am able to act and not only plan like before.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
Generally, I am grateful because GiveDirectly uplifted me. Before, all I could do was plan but not implement but with GiveDirectly I am now able to undertake the projects I am planning. If only it were possible, you could continue giving us this particular kind of support but I am grateful. Everything is right according to me.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent most of my transfer on building the house. I bought iron sheets for KES17000 and poles for KES15000. This is because the house we have been living in is in a very poor condition and can barely shield us. This has been stressing me a lot, so I put I huge chunk of the transfer into building a better and bigger house that would shield us from the kind harsh weather that we experience at times. Therefore, this house is a huge relief for me and my family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($502 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was still early in the morning while I was still at home doing some chores before going to open my shop when I received the mpesa message. I became so happy and immediately informed my spouse who decided that he would come home in the evening so that we would plan how to spend the cash. Before GiveDirectly came for enrollment, it had always been my wish to boost my business but had not been able to due to lack of finances. With the money in my account, I was certain that I would finally achieve this.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I operate a grocery and sisal business at our nearest shopping centres. It had always been my desire to boost this business and also purchase a piece of land to be operating this business from so that I would not be renting a room anymore. I was able to achieve all this using the transfer and due to this, my daily profits has started increasing since I can now meet all my customers needs on time and I have also been able to balance between the demand and supply of my goods. Being able to achieve this has made my daily life different.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I operate a grocery and sisal business at our nearest shopping centres where I have rented a house for this purpose. As a way of reducing my expenditure, I decided to spend KES 10000 from my transfer to purchase the piece of land and the shop from the owner as he was selling it. In addition, I spent KES 14000 to boost this business through buying more stock. This is because my customers had increased and I was not in a position to meet all their demands. I still have KES 30000 saved in my mpesa account and I am planning to spend them to boost this business when need be.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means boosting my grocery business to aid in the financial stability of my household. Currently, I work as a PTA teacher and my earnings depend on the parents. This is not reliable since my monthly income is 60 dollars only and sustaining my family's basic needs is a challenge. I opted to start vending vegetables but my capital as of now is very minimal utmost 50 dollars which has limited me to have more fruits and vegetables for sale at my kiosk. My plan once I receive this money is to spend 300 dollars of my first transfer to add capital to my business and also to repair the kiosk. The remaining amount will help me to start livestock keeping, and I plan to buy 3 indigenous dairy cows. These will help me to get milk for both household consumption and sale to earn me extra income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Waking up in the morning knowing that I must provide light to the life of my children at school gives me the feeling of happiness. This makes me feel fulfilling my responsibility as a teacher and I always take it positively. Hence, I consider the morning being the happiest part of my day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have desired to live a decent life but this has never been possible due to financial challenges. Being a teacher with a family of 5, earning only 60 dollars per month can not fully cater to our very basic needs. Sometimes getting little pay from the parents is also impossible due to the harsh life they are living in their homesteads and most cases, I miss a payment for 2 months. Therefore, financial constraints are the biggest hardship that I have ever faced in my life.