GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
Grace
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
52
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the larger part of my third transfer on cementing my house and now I am happly living in a clean environment as a result I am freed from conditions such as jigger infested and respiratory diseases that was predisposed with exposure to frequent dust .I also bought 30 tins of maize and other food for my family's comsuption.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($483 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole the transfer to buy building materials as l am planning to build a nice permanent house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that l now have hopes that my dream of staying in a nice permanent house will come true.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying Iron sheet worth 5000 KES and 5000 KES on school fees
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house with my upcoming transfer
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy cement, sand, iron roofing sheets, nails, round poles and timber which we will use to build a better house for our family. The remaining transfers will be used to buy a dairy cow which will provide us with milk for our own consumption.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked in my farm for many years and managed to buy a ploughing machine, some cows and built my house with funds I got after selling maize and sweet potatoes that I harvested.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, this means that my family often lacks basic needs like three nutritious meals a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up. I am usually very happy because I can thank the Lord for blessing me and my family with good health.