chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zawadi's Profile
Zawadi's family
Zawadi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
44
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Zawadi's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($502 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was filled with happiness the moment I realized that I had received my transfers. This money gave me hope that I would be able to build a decent house for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my family now has a good shelter. This is because I was able to build a decent house for family. Also bought enough beddings and because of this, I nowadays sleep well unlike before when I used to sleep on the floor.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my transfer to buy some building materials like iron sheets and nails to use in building a decent house for my family. Also, I bought two goats for rearing. This are assets to me that I can sell and use the money in paying school fees. On the remaining amount, I bought school uniforms for my children to replace the old ones and food to last my family for some time.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My house has collapsed 2 weeks ago due to the rains we are experiencing in our area. My wish has been to construct a good two-roomed irony sheet house but I have not fulfilled this due to financial constraints I am facing. Receiving this money means accomplishment of my desire since I am planning to spend 250 dollars on this. I will use the remaining amount to education my daughter who completed class 8 last year and I have failed to further her studies to secondary.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Evening is the happiest part of my day. I normally have enough time to relax after speeding the whole day doing my house chores and working in the farm.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial instability has been the biggest hardship in my life. Being a housewife and my husband is casual labor doing charcoal burning activities. His income is utmost 1.5 dollars per day. This income is hardly enough to feed the family and educate my children not to say building a good shelter for the family.