GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Pamela's Profile
Pamela's family
Pamela
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
access_time almost 6 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
When I received my first lumpsum transfer, I paid secondary school fees for my son with 19000 KES, I spent 17550 KES on 27 iron sheets, 5000 KES on a mattress, 3500 KES on 10 cushions, 3000 KES on a sheep and the remaining 1950 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I managed to keep my child in school the whole of the term in courtesy of GD. This has improved his school performance and equally made me happy and proud as a mother the biggest difference in our daily lives.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token on school fees (5000), school uniform (2000) and food (3000).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a new house and pay school fees with my upcoming lump-sum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my money to buy some iron sheets and hire laborers who will help me renovate my house because I plan to replace my roof.I am also planning to use the remaining portion to pay for school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I was able to save some money from the little I was earning from my casual jobs and I am proud that I managed to educate my son beyond secondary level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is how to ensure that I feed,cloth and educate my children because my income is too little.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is always in the evening when I get to the market and buy food that is enough to feed my children.