chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emily's Profile
Emily's family
Emily
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
60
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emily's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($516 USD)
access_time 15 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I could not believe it when I saw the message, ever since I had never received such an amount before. I felt over joyed as I knew that my life will greatly change.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Before receiving my transfers, I had lived a stressful life as I was always worried about family access to basic needs. This is because we had no where to live, as parent I needed to have a place where I would build a home for my children. Due to this, I had gathered resources to buy a piece of land but wasn't enough until when I received my transfers and complete payment that is when I fully own the piece of land. This is where I build a house where we now call home. As a result of this, seeing my family live happily is the biggest difference in my daily life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The first transfer which I received from GiveDirectly I spent it on completion of the payment of a piece of land we were buying. I also spent part of it on buying building materials for constructing a house. The remaining portion I spent on buying food items for the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
One of my daughters is unmarried, has three children and stays with me. For a long time I have wished I could give her a dignified life of having her own home and privacy. Now that I am a GiveDirectly beneficiary I plan to build her a house worth approximately $250 in a portion of my piece of land.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I live in an ASAL area where not much crops make it out of the scorching sun. However, I have managed to plant a few sweet potatoes that do well in this kind of environment. My day involves spending much time in this farm growing and uprooting some for my meals. This makes me happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My last born son who is in the polytechnic has deferred his course because I do not have enough money to sustain his education. There's nothing left to sell after parting with the only remaining calf to pay his fees last year. My biggest worry is to see his his dreams shattered should he drop out of school. This is the biggest hardship I currently face.