GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sammy's Profile
Sammy's family
Sammy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Looking after house/family
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($485 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Currently, my life is different from how it was before Give Directly came into my life in that, I now stay in my own house. I used to stay with friends because I didn't have a stable source of income that would sustain me or even pay rent. Since I paid rent for the whole year, I have been peaceful and have started enjoying the privacy and freedom that comes with staying alone.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I do not have a new goal at the moment. I want to make sure that I complete constructing the house that I had started building a few months ago with the second transfer. Owning a house will allow me to settle and allow me to start doing other development projects and income-generating activities
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the whole of my third transfer on purchasing more building materials. I had started building a house back at home but the materials were not enough. I now want to finish building it so that I will no longer be sleeping in the kitchen whenever I visit my parents. I used to get embarrassed and at times fail to go home for months. Having my own place means a lot to me and that is why I prioritized spending most of my transfer to meet this goal.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($366 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
Previous before the transfers were sent, I used to work as a janitor and this was not satisfying as I earned little money that was not enough to sustain me. I did this for two years without any savings. When I received my transfers, I bought two hand carts and currently I make way much more than I used before and I can comfortable foot my bills.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I am planning to start a wholesale shop where I can stock building tools to sell to the local market. In my community, manual labor is the order of the day and almost everyone needs tools to help them make their work easier. So I saw this a business opportunity and thought to myself why not.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received the previous transfer, I bought two hand carts. With the hand carts, I am guaranteed of a daily income from the hire of the hand carts. Where I stay the business is lucrative but initially, I did not have the financial ability to invest in the business. used to work as a janitor which never gave me enough resources.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($200 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I'm glad I was able to meet the major goal which was to stay together with my spouse as a family and I owe this to GiveDirectly. Currently, I have an additional goal of purchasing a hand cart which I'll be using as a source of income because I'm planning to use it to carry people's luggage at a fee. At the same time, I'll be hiring it out to those in need of it a fee. This will enable me to easily meet my family's needs and save some cash for constructing a house in the future because I do own a house at the moment.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My life is currently different from the way it would have been had I not received the transfers in that if it wasn't for the GiveDirectly money my spouse and I would still be staying apart because we couldn't afford to construct or rent a house. This is not the case anymore because I was able to use part of the transfer to pay for house rent, and we are currently staying together. Having achieved this, I feel so happy and proud.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My brother stole the phone which I was given by GiveDirectly leaving me with no phone so the moment when I received the transfer, I bought a new phone to replace it. In addition to that, my wife and I had been staying apart for a long period of time because we did not have a house. This forced her to stay with her parents while I was putting up with a friend. I, therefore, used part of the money to rent a house and I'm happy we are now staying together. I also bought clothes for my children because they did not have presentable ones and also to show that I am a responsible father.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
It was around 5.am in the morning and I was already awake preparing to go to my usual duties when I heard my phone beep twice then I wondered who had sent me a message at such a time because it was so unusual for me to receive a message at that time. I decided to check and I could not believe what I saw. Therefore I read the message twice. After confirming from my mpesa balance I believed truly this is the money we were promised by GiveDirectly. I knelt down and prayed to thank the Lord then went for work.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My plan is to rent my own house because I stay with a friend. Buy house hold goods because I don't have mine and lastly open a business which I will be selling construction tools like spade,hammers etc.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is unemployment because a lot of youths have no jobs so they end up engaging in crime and at the end of the day they are killed. Housing also is a big concern because I personally I stay with a friend because of lack of finance to afford to pay for rent and that worries me. Lastly is health crisis because there is no proper health system in our country.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambitions is to do business and become a successful one so that I can earn enough money to cater for my daily sustenance needs and also live a better life.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I wake up early in morning then I open my friends business because that's where I stay at his business premises. I then go to take tea at my moms house because she lives closer to where I sleep, I then go to hangout with friends at our usual spot, spend some time there until lunch time then I go to my moms place again and check if she has some food to eat. then I go back to my usual spot and continue hanging around with friends until evening at around 8pm. I then go to sleep after my friend has closed his business because I . On my free time I just hang around with friends.