chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Bendera's Profile
Bendera's family
Bendera
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
43
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
For many years, I have desired to own livestock like others in my village. I was able to accomplish my wish through my transfer, I now own a dairy cow that is about to give delivery. I will be able to have enough milk supply for my family and sell the extra litres to my neighbors. Also, will be self-reliance when I finally start my poultry farming.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, Givedirectly has done so well for sending us transfer which has improved my life. I am living in the rural area and livestock rearing normally perform very well .
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $250 to purchase a dairy cow that is about to give birth. In addition, I am planning to use $300 to start a small-scale poultry farming. I will begin by constructing a small structure, purchase the chicks and chick feeds. This because I have desired to start this project but I lucked the capital to initiate it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was exactly 1 o'clock when I was preparing lunch for my family then my phone started vibrating. I was a bit curious and surprised and decided to check who it might be. On checking, I confirmed that it was an Mpesa message from GiveDirectly. Due to the excitement that I had, I even left whatever I was doing and started celebrating with my family
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Having a dairy cow is the biggest difference in my daily life. This is what o have been yearning to rear for quite a long time but I could not afford it. I opted in keeping the dairy cow becasue it has several benefits and I had an experience of how to look after it. I was employed by one of my neighbors in the village for some years to look after his cows and I do believe I gained a lot of experience. Taking care of my own won't be that difficult. Also, some of the benefits that I will be getting from the dairy cows, is that there will be plenty of production of milk. Whereby some will be for the family consumption and I believe it will boost their health and the remaining liter will be for commercial purposes. I will be supplying them to the nearby town centers and generate an income. The little that I will be earning I will save and start some other projects such as a hotel business. Therefore I will no longer strain in meeting my family's needs as I used before considering the fact that I am a widow.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my first transfer on buying some livestock such as a dairy cow worthy of 16000. This has been my long-time dream to own it but I could not afford it. I also bought some beddings such as a new mattress to replace the old one that I have been using. Also, I bought the plastic chairs and a table because all along I have been using mats to sit on which was so embarrassing whenever I had visitors. I also bought a wooden door to fix, because the previous one has worn out. With the remaing amount of money, I want to start a business of buying and selling chicken in the market which will be my source of income
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I worked as a farmworker for 7 years. During this time I learnt all the farming skills and tips on how to raise dairy cows and broilers. Since then, my biggest ambition has been to venture in this business. Receiving this money therefore means I will purchase 2 dairy cows and also set up a poultry project. This will mean a stable source of income that will see me finance my daughter's education alongside other needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My life is always busy with household chores and farm work making it hard to even rest. The only day when I am free is on Sunday because it is my day of worship. Joining other congregants for service makes me very happy as I get encouraged by the word of God.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial instability is my biggest hardship. This is because I depend mostly on subsistence farming and I do not have any other source. The only hope is my son who operates a motorcycle taxi in Mombasa and the much he sends is 500 shillings a month. This has resulted to a struggle in provision of basic needs.