GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Syprine's Profile
Syprine's family
Syprine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Syprine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 25 bags of cement at 16,800 KES, a lorry of sand at 8,500 KES, one stiil door at 6,000 KES, two still windows at 3,000 KES, used 3,000 KES transportation fee then paid 12,000 KES labour charge.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now feeling very safe because I have a very decent and stable house .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 4800 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 4000 KES on a bed and the remaining 1200 KES on a sack of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am praying so hard to plaster my main house with cement and sand when I get my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use part of the transfer to pay school fees for my three sons in high school. I also plan to buy mattress and blankets to help my family. I plan to use the remaining balance to construct a latrine and a kitchen.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proud of is that I have managed as a widow to feed my seven children despite going through hardship.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that of paying school fees. Being that I am a widow and sickly and with no reliable income source, it hasn't been easy for me to get school fees for these kids.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am manage to provide food for my children.