GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nereya's Profile
Nereya's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third cash transfer to pay school fees 42000KES, a shopping 4000KES and food 2000KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
Yes,my new goal is to start a business probably selling fish,buy a water tank and install electricity in my house.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than it would have been if I never received the cash transfer since I have managed to build a toilet which I did not have.I have managed to send my child to college without organizing for a fund raising and most importantly is the fact that water is runing in my house.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I have saved the whole of the first lumpsum for my child who is soon joining paid campus.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am happy because I'm sure of my child joining cumpus without any financial hindrance since I have already saved for her.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I built a latrine with 5500 KES,bought drugs 2300 KES, a sack of maize 2300 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my son who will be joining college.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to construct a pit latrine out of bricks because the ones I have been constructing don't last long. I will use half of my transfer on my child joining the University this year and purchase an improved dairy cow that produce milk for sales and for household consumption
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled very much to educate my son who is about to join University to pursue a bachelors degree in Finance.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is poor health. I can nolonger work as hard as I used to because I am living with Arthritis.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up because not everybody that go to sleep wake up a live.