chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
26
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying 70 pole 13000 KES, nails 3000 KES, weather board 4000 KES , labor 8000 KES, transportation 2500 KES, water 1500 KES and paid a debt of 10000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference i have seen is that i am in a good house and was able to pay silk debt that i feared they would have come for my things in case i failed to pay them .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used Ksh 3000 to buy iron sheets to expand my house, bought a bed for Ksh 4000 and two goats for Ksh 3000.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I will use the next transfer to expand my house,finish paying for a motorbyke we bought on loan, the rest of the money my husband will spend on dowry.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to buy two cows which we will use to pay dowry for Eunice, the remainder of the transfers will be used to purchase a piece of land on which to build our homestead, this is because where we currently reside, land portions are too small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having joined a women's support group and through my savings, I have been able to buy household items and clothes for my children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I currently have is that my husband does not have a sustainable source of income and my small snacks business is not profitable. This means that we often cannot afford all the basic commodities like clothes and food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part my day is in the afternoon when my children come home from school and I am able to give them something like porridge to drink. This often makes them grateful and they thank me, this makes me very happy.