GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Ann's Profile
Ann's family
Casual labour
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second cash transfer on buying 36 pieces of iron sheets 21,600 KES, timber 10,000 KES, nails 3,700 KES,2 hens 800 KES, food 3,700 KES, labor 7,000 KES and paid school fees 3,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a descent house which I built with this cash transfer.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought iron sheets for 3000 KES, paid school fees of 3000 KES and spent 4000 KES on food expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy building materials and build a house with upcoming lumpsum transfer payment.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the money to build a new house because our house is in a very bad condition. Secondly I would wish to use some money to open up a business to generate income to help support my family. Finally l would like to pay school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l struggled to take my children to school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is unreliable source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am able to provide supper for my children.