GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ruth's Profile
Ruth's family
Ruth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent 10,000 KES to pay rent for my school compound,i used 7000 KES to buy iron sheets that i used to construct a small room fr the training classes.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I am hoping that the vocational training school i have started will pick up will and give some income.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The difference in my life now is that i have expanded my salon business and my vocational training school is also picking up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 39000 KES of the first lumpsum on starting up a business, used 4000 KES on building poultry house, gave my mum 3000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am at peace because I have a source of income from the business.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 6,500 KES to get a certificate for my newly started college, paid 1,000 KES balance that remained after buying a cow, gave 1,000 KES to my mother, bought two wooden tables at 1,000 KES then bought a paint for painting a sewing machine.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
Am planning to use the upcoming lumpsum payment to boost any areas that are lagging within the new college.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to open a technical school where young boys and girls in my community can access trainings in tailoring, salon, catering and also set up a recording studio for gospel music.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am a gospel artist and through music I have touched many lives positively. I love to empower young people.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is being a single parent to my two children. I have been a victim of divorce twice and that has affected my physical and emotional health.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up in good heath.