chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zacharia's Profile
Zacharia's family
Zacharia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($469 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
The recipient was not asked any questions as part of this follow up.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 2 cows at 15,000 KES each, which i took as dowry to my wifes place,paid 10,000 KES as part of the pride price and the remaining money was used on transport and other expenses during the visit.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is finally paying my wife's bride price and making things formal between the two families.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I treated my child with 2000 KES, bought iron sheets with 6000 KES and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build a house with the upcoming lumpsum transfer payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on iron sheets in order to build a new house with iron roof. I will then spend the rest of the transfer on food and maybe start a business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is buying a bicycle, which aids my movement around the village.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is lack of money and food to effectively take care of my family's needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when everybody is back in the house.