chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers (3 total)
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Clare's Profile
Clare's family
Clare
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
other
faceAge:
30
Upcoming Stage
2nd Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Clare's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($97 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your token payment on?
I spent my first transfer to buy one sack of corn for my family consumption. I also bought my children school uniforms for my children and a mattress for me and my husband after the one we had got old.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received the transfer,I was so happy. I could not believe it. On that day my husband had not caught any fish and that meant we were going to sleep hungry. I was so glad.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
We have been rained in this house,for along time and struggling to repay loan has been difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
During evening when I have completed my work and rate supper.
What does receiving this money mean to you?
This money will enable me build new good spacious house, where we shall be comfortable to live in. I will purchase seeds for farming and buy uniform for my child.