GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kadzo's Profile
Kadzo's family
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($528 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have been having to pay dowry for my daughter which I am proud of . This means she is officially my daughter- in- law, therefore, I am no longer worried that she might leave to her biological home with my grandchildren due to unsettled dowry payments. The best part of it my son now has earned the respect of his in laws. Thanks to GiveDirectly
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
I love the fact that GiveDirectly gave us money which had no conditions in it ,therefore, there was a positive impact on my community economic growth since majority of the beneficiaries engaged on bigger projects such as farming and starting business.
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying ox phough .I bought fifteen pieces of iron sheets which I intend to use in building a house where my children will sleep in. At the moment , it pains me to see them walk at night in the dark while they go to their grandmother to sleep which make me fear for their safety most of the time. I paid school fees for my children who are in primary school. I also bought food for my family's consumption and clothes with the remaining amount .
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($541 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have been able to buy the things that I have always wanted to buy but which I have been unsuccessful due to lack of enough funds. I feel so happy that I can now live a better life than the one I have been living before I received these funds.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I received money from GiveDirectly I felt so happy. I heard my phone ring at around 5:00 am and on checking to see the content, I met a pleasant surprise of KES 55000 from GiveDirectly. I went back to sleep as I pondered on how I was going to spend my money to reap maximum benefits from it.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used KES 34000 to buy oxen for ploughing and used the remaining amount to buy food, mattress and other basic household needs. All these has changed my life positively since they are the things I have been aspiring to have but which I have never had due to lack of enough cash at my disposal. I feel so indebted to GiveDirectly for the timely support that I received from them.
access_time 12 months ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
In our community, "ugali" (a dish of maize flour) is the most valued local cuisine, and it is preferably cooked with water to porridge or dough-like consistency. Without this on my table daily, it is a huge problem for the family. However, it has been a real struggle to produce enough maize that can sustain the family up to the next harvest,- and the biggest hindrances are but not limited to lack of proper means of cultivation and unpredictable weather patterns. And since we cultivate without any mechanization, oftentimes we are got up by time and end up planting a small portion of land, - subsequently leading to dismal harvests. Therefore, my desire is to be food secured and to achieve this, I intend to invest part of my transfers(ksh40000) on oxen for easy and timely cultivation. This will enable me to produce enough maize for the family and save the money that I currently use to purchase maize flour from the shop on a daily basis. For the rest of the money, I will use it to clear school fee arrears and ensure my children have the necessary school materials; like books and uniforms.
What is the happiest part of your day?
Morning is the happiest part of my day because it is that moment when the mind is clear and set to achieve the day's objectives. Usually, I wake to household chores and thereafter attend to farm work depending on the season of the year. Like now, for instance, it is planting season, - so most part of my day is spent in farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Lack of adequate income has been the biggest hardship in life. My husband, who is our sole breadwinner is a carpenter, and since he doesn't have the required capital to run his own workshop, he works in a friend's workshop and that is where he earns his daily wage. On average he brings home ksh 300, which can only meet food expenses. Considering that there are other pressing needs like education and healthcare, oftentimes it is very constraining to pull all this together, and as a result, we have had to compromise on lots of things. Like for instance the house we are living in, - a section of the roof is leaking and considering that I have 7 children, the space in there is not enough. We have had to forego the comfort of a spacious house so that children can at least have a decent meal and tuition fee. Being food secured will enable my husband to save enough money for his carpentry business.