GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Taptechoo's Profile
Taptechoo's family
Taptechoo
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
83
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Taptechoo's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($486 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at home doing my daily house chores when my daughter-in-law who is my helper came with the news of receiving the promised transfer. When she checked my phone, she informed me that I had also received the same we rejoiced as a family and thanked God.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the addition of a heifer to my livestock. It gives me joy since I know I will soon start getting surplus milk and I can sell to earn an extra income hence catering for other household expenses.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
On receiving the first transfer, I spent Ksh.25,000 on purchasing a heifer.Though I had two,I decided to add another one so that I can have enough milk supply for both domestic purposes and also sell so that I can get an extra income.I also spent Ksh.4,000 in tilling my land and planting maize seedlings.I am grateful that the maize is doing great and looking forward for a good harvest.I spent Kshs.6,000 in purchasing a Sunking solar which has a good lighting compared to other solar lights.I also spent Ksh.2,500 in fencing a piece of land I had bought but did not have money to put up a nice fence .This has enabled me rear my animals in well partitioned farm.With the remaining amount I used to purchase clothes and food for my household members.
 
Enrolled
access_time 9 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Currently, I do not own any cows. I purchase milk costing me KES 1260 per month. This is a lot for me as I depend on my few chickens selling them once in a while. With this money, I plan to purchase two dairy cows which will greatly reduce my expenditure. It will cost me approximately KES 60,000. For the rest of the amount I will buy wire mesh to fence my poultry farm as this is my main source of income. This will cost me KES 20,000. I also plan to stock cereals so that I do not spend money on purchases.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My day starts at 6.AM in the morning, I prepare breakfast for my granddaughter and me. I do house chores and spend the rest of the day looking after my few farm animals. The happiest part of my day is in the evening when my granddaughter is back from school. We get to share meals as we share stories as she gives me company. Her company makes me happy as I usually spend the day alone.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is a lack of finances. Over the years I have sold all my cows to pay school fees for my children. Due to minimal income, I have not been able to buy any cows. I strain a lot to put food on my table. My farm is a dry pace, we do not harvest much produce from farming.