chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Juliana's Profile
Juliana's family
Juliana
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
60
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($482 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my life is that I have managed to accomplish so much that I never thought that I would have achieved in a short period, in that, I bought a dairy cow meaning that I would be able to save up on the milk expenses which is costly. I then managed to pay school fees, which meant that my children could comfortably study without any fear or worries of been sent home. I am so grateful for the support that I was given.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has lifted the. Lives of the need in society, I am grateful for the unconditional cash that we were given. So far I have not seen anything that is done wrongly.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a consistent farmer, I am blessed with five children, the biggest need that I had was to own a dairy cow so that we would cut down on the cost of buying milk daily, therefore, I used KES 25,000 in purchasing a dairy cow, I then paid school fees arrears of KES 20,000. Lastly, I bought foodstuffs with the remaining part of the transfer, I am relieved because I don't have any fee balances. I am happy for the support that has lifted my life greatly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 10 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I had gone to visit a relative when I saw a message on my phone. I do not know how to read and therefore later, I asked a child I met there to check the contents of the message for me. He told me that I had received Ksh. 55000 and on hearing that I jumped up and down with a lot of excitement.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
I have sold a huge piece of land for my children to go to school since it has been hard to raise school fees. I have no more land left to sell and I did not imagine where I was going to get school fees this year for my son until I saw the transfer message from GiveDirectly and it calmed my soul. I feel blessed.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I paid school fees for my son who is college, bought seats for my house since we did not have any. I also bought food and clothes for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 12 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I am a parent who values education so much. I have seen people who have gone to school and they are successful in life. I have 3 children who are currently in school and I will fight for them to have the best education ever. One of my children is in university pursuing a course in Hotel Management. The other two are in high school and primary level. I pay a total of 60000 shillings to my son in university every single year. I also pay 18000 shillings for the one in high school and 5000 shillings for my last born in primary. Raising this amount of money is not easy considering that I do any job. Receiving this money will mean a lot to mean because it will remove the burden of school fees off my shoulders.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am always happy in the morning than at any other time of the day. This is because I am great to God for giving me a chance to see another day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I live in an area where it experiences low rainfall yearly. We are constantly hit by droughts that go for even 4 months. This leaves me with the heaviest burden of finding water to use. I am forced to walk for close to 4 kilometers to access it and I carry it on my back using a 20 liter Jerry Can. I have to make 4-5 trips in a day to get enough that can sustain me the whole day. What is depressing is the fact that this water is not even safe for drinking and we have to walk further to get drinking water. I waste a lot of time doing this and lack time to focus on what is important for the family.