GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rose's Profile
Rose's family
Rose
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
55
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rose's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the the transfer to build my house so l bought building materials at 26000 kshs, labor-charge at 4000 kshs, l also bought cow at 15000 kshs the remaining balance l spent to buy food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l am now staying in a spacious and comfortable house .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I invested 4100 KES of my token payment in maize and bean farming, 3000 KES in hotel business then I paid primary school fees for my children using 1500 KES and I spent the remaining 1400 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to build an iron-roofed house of 32 iron sheets and buy an oxen with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a mattress as the one I have is in a bad condition,I will also use part of the transfer on buying twenty iron sheets that I will use in building a bigger house as the one I stay in is small, we will use part of the transfer on buying two bulls that we can use in ploughing our farm and some chairs for house. The remaining amount I will spend on paying school fees for my four children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my kids to school and some of them have completed high school using the cash that I get from my farm and some small business that I do in the market that involves selling bread.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that nowadays my income is very low and my family depend on us for everything including food,clothes and school fees and this is a challenge as we don't have anyone who can support us.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the market in the morning at around 6am to open up my small shop,I feel happy when I get customers and I am able to provide food in the evening for my family.