chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Washington's Profile
Washington's family
Washington
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Washington's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 7,200 KES, timber at 7,200 KES, nails at 800 KES, used 2,000 KES transportation fee, paid 3,000 KES labour charge then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and bought retail shop goods at 38,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am no longer begging or working for others to earn because I have my shop and hotel business that help me to earn some income.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I upgraded my food cafe business using 7000 KES of my token payment, then I paid school fees for my son using 1000 KES and the remaining 2000 KES of the transfer on food and clothing for my household members.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to invest in a pub business using the whole of my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on buying a water tank of about 3000 litres that we can use in harvesting water, I will also buy a public address system that I can hire to people at a fee, I will open up a small shop that we can stock with items like bread,milk and soap that we can sell to the local people in our are and the remains amount I can spend on buying a piece of land that I can build my house so that we can move from my father's compound. The investments that will be generated by the cash I can also start a poultry farm.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that when I used to be working as a contractor in electricity company,after the death of my brother,I managed to take my brother's child to school till he cleared high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that our income is very low and getting cash to by food and even for seeking medical attention is a problem to us as a family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I sit down with my family in the evening and we have a chat on issues that affect them in their life and I do encourage them so that the don't give up on life.