<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Wycklif's Profile
Wycklif's family
Wycklif
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
34
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Wycklif's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to build my house so l bought building materials 49000 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because l now have hopes that l will have nice house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used the entire transfer to buy sand which I'll use to build a brick house. At the moment I live in earth house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to buy some bricks and other building materials with the entire transfer so that when I get the last transfer, I just start building immediatly.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a home, since I am homeless, I live in my brother's house. I also plan to pay school fees and to furnish the house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is the ability to provide basic needs for my family, inclusive of food, clothing and shelter.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the lack of a house. I feel so incomplete as a homeless man.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I get called for any casual job.