GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joel's Profile
Joel's family
Joel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Joel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought two cows at 30,000 KES, a sofaset at 8,000 KES, one pair of shoes at 1,300 KES, five chickens at 1,950 KES, used 2,000 KES to buy school uniforms and shoes for my four children, gave 3,000 KES to my wife, used 4,000 KES to attend to my sister's funeral.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Am now less of worries because I now have some of the things that I only used to admire from a far.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6000 KES of my token payment on 3 sheep and the remaining 4000 KES on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to look for 2 oxen and use the remaining part of my upcoming lumpsum payment for building a better house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to build a home, buy a ploughing machine and two cows for farming and to invest in commercial sugarcane farming.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is farming. I do commercial farming of tomatoes and sugarcane. This farming venture is my entire life's investment and pride.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is lack of adequate finances to expand my farming activities.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to the farm during morning hours.