GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Mary's Profile
Mary's family
Mary
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Hairdressing
faceAge:
56
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Mary's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
We bought sand for 6,000 KES, bought 8 bags of cement for 6,400 KES and paid 6,000 KES as labour charges to plaster the walls and floor of my house. I paid 7,000 KES as school fees for a niece in secondary school, bought 3 sheep for 9,000 KES, two goats for 4,000 KES, murram for 6,000 KES, one bag of maize for 3,000 KES and the rest was spent on buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have plastered the walls and floor of the house and now am relieved from constant repair of the walls which was time consuming and costly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 5000 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 3000 KES food and then I repaid my loan using the remaining 2000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my main house with cement and sand using the whole of my lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to renovate and expand my house, buy furniture and beddings and to buy livestock like sheep and goats.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is my return to the village to start life afresh. Most of my life I lived in towns away from the village because I had separated with my husband. Now my kids have a place to call home and it's my pride.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of supporting my grandchildren who kind of depend on me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is mid morning when doing a clients hair. I am a salonist by profession.