GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Alice's Profile
Alice's family
Casual labour
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Alice's next check-in.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 2,000KES school fees for my child. I also bought a matress and beddings for my children and I. I used 1,000KES as capital to start a business in seling doughnuts.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I live in a rental house at the market centre, I therefore plan to pay piece of land for build a house on.
access_time over 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on starting a business of selling clothes in our local market and the remaining I will pay school fees for my children who are in primary school.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is that I was able to buy three sheep using cash that I got from my work as a housemaid.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that the money that I am being paid is very little and it is not enough to buy food and pay for their school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I prepare a meal for my family in the evening,I am happy because they will be going to bed when they have had something to eat even if it is small.