chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Eunice's Profile
Eunice's family
Eunice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
casuall labour
faceAge:
46
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Eunice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 38000 kshs to pay school fees to my two children in high school, l also bought mattress at 5000 kshs, bed at 4000 kshs, the remaining balance l spend to buy 1 sack of maize at 2400 kshs
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l was stranded with my children in the house but now they back to school .
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the entire transfer on paying school fees for my children.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have a huge school fees arrears, I hope to spend the money on clearing it.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
Planning to pay school fees for my children in school Planning to buy food around the house to at least keep us all going planning to buy at least one cow for future milking as a source of income
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement so far are my children and my home they all give me the strength to keep working hard
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in life is I never had a good education my life has been all about casual jobs and since my husband passed I remained the only provider
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day are my mornings when I get a casual work that am sure will earn me a meal together with my family