chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Elizabeth's Profile
Elizabeth's family
Elizabeth
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
58
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Elizabeth's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 20,800KES on buying iron windows and a door, and glasses for finishing my iron roofed house. I also bought a set of seats @ 13,000KES, and paid 7,000KES medical expenses for my child.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I feel more confident when people look at my home when they pass because it has a new look.i am happy that i will soon live in a good iron roofed house be cause i already have the materials.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used 6,000 KES to buy a solar lump for light provision. I also purchased other household items with the remaining portion.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house. My current house is too old and need replacement.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use transfer to plaster my walls and repair the floor because we lack good quality soil for smearing. I also plan to revive my vegetable vending business that collapsed due to lack of capital and finally pay my dowry because my husband died before paying my dowry.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have single handedly raised my children until they have become adults and responsible family men and women.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in my life is lack of money to educate my grandchildren and the orphans I live with.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up well and able to engage in my income generating activities.