GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Nelly's Profile
Nelly's family
Nelly
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Nelly's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 15 days ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I have a son schooling at Koriema Secondary. We have $40 fees areas, I plan to clear that. My other son, Kibichii, who completed primary education last year wants to join a skills school. We have enquired, he needs $600 for a masonry course at Kituro Polytechnic. We plan to take him for the course. Besides that, we intend to fence a small piece of our land at $100 to plant vegetables. Then buy a 3000 litres water tank for $150, to store the piped water. It's rationed. If we plant vegetables, on a good day we can sell vegetables worth $2. From this we'll be able to buy food for our family of 9. This is also an easy job that my husband can do.
What is the happiest part of your day?
At our home we have a 10 acre piece of land and we've planted 11 mango trees. On September this year, we harvested mangoes from one of the fruits. I sold and got $7.50. This made me happy since I was able to pay the monthly $1.20 water bill and buy food for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My husband Joseph, 39, fell down on a rocky and hilly terrain while heading to the forest in 2020. He had gone to cut trees for sell. Due to the impact of the fall, he dislocated and injured the right hand. We did not have the $600 hospital bill required to treat him. The arm healed that way without correction, this affected him. I was very sad since he could no longer do the normal jobs he used to. Before the injury my husband could make up to $3 a day. Now he can only manage $0.50, which is small. I am the only one who can work fully to provide for the family. I cannot always be able to get enough money to feed our family.