chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Anna's Profile
Anna's family
Anna
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
41
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Anna's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($466 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
This financial assistance has enabled me acquire cows. I am expecting these cows to reproduce then help me acquire construction materials and my children's education. In addition, I bought a bigger matress which is spacious hence giving me comfortable sleep. Unlike before, when I slept on a very old smaller matress without a bed.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
The moment I learnt that I had got my money, I became very happy because this money was going to change my life positively.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer to purchase a cow and calf that I am planning to sell in future for acquiring construction materials for an iron roofed house. The money which was left, I bought clothes, a mattress, bed sheets, utensils and foodstuffs
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I can buy household items such as a mattress, bedsheets, utensils and also buy oxen. I currently don't have good beddings and oxen to plough my land.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is during lunch.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced is food shortage. My agricultural land is located next to the swamp and whenever it rains too much they flood hence destroying my crops.