<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > David's Profile
David's family
David
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
22
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on David's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was about 9 am when I was in the house preparing for my daily activities. I heard a message alert on my phone I was eager to know its contents since I was not suspecting any message at such a time. Upon checking, I realized that I had received my transfer from GiveDirectly. It was a happy moment of my life. Immediately, I left what I was doing to travel to the Mpesa shop to cash out the transfer. This is because my mother was sick and I had no money to take her to the hospital.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my siblings are learning without any interruption due to school fees after paying of all the fee arrears. In addition, I was able to clear the medical bills for my mum as well as giving her a befitted sent off.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent most of my transfer to seek proper medical care for my mum. She had been ill for a very long time, suffering from liver problem . After receiving my transfer, I used KES 45,000 to settle all the medical bills and fare to and from the hospital. Unfortunately, she passed away and I used some amount to lay her to rest. In addition, I used KES 5000 to clear fee balances for my 5 siblings who are still in primary school. The remaining amount assisted me to purchase enough food for the family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means a lot in my life! I will take my mother to hospital because my mother has been suffering from mental healthy for long without any medical assistance due to luck of financial support.I will spend 30, 000 shillings for my mother's treatment, 40,000 shillings I will build a new house for the family and spend the rest on family food and any emergency cases.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is during the evening when my mother has cooled down her mental problems and have joined us in our super meals . This time am happy because I believe my mother is safe , around and we are with her.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is my mother being ill of mental health for a very long time without any medication and she usually goes away from home without my consent.