GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Caroline's Profile
Caroline's family
Caroline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Caroline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 17000 KES of my first lumpsum transfer on an oxen, 8500 KES on an oxen-plough, 2500 KES on a sack of maize and Invested the remaining 21725 KES in a second hand clothing business.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life that I can mention is that I am now self-employed and I don't need to struggle in life anymore to provide for my family-they can now have access to basic needs.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of a traditional plough for 7,000 KES and gave my husband 3,000 KES for his clothes
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on starting a small-scale business, buying 2 cows and furnishing my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have two goats that I acquired using my income from small businesses.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to purchase an ox plough machine and a bull to reduce my cost of ploughing and purchase household furniture because my house is empty.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of money because we have no proper source of income. As a woman, lack of finances limit my ability to acquire the things I desire.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am with family, talking and laughing about the day's experiences.