chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Rashidi's Profile
Rashidi's family
Rashidi
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Rashidi's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($468 USD)
access_time 12 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The most significant change is that I feel much relieved and self independent. I have two children who need my support. However, my work place does not provide a conducive environment. My employer has been too strict and inconsiderate to me. I am very happy that I am soon setting up my own salon business where I can be fully independent. I look forward to accomplishing many dreams when I start earning daily income.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I remeber I received the mobile money message early morning. It was something very new because I hardly received messages. However, when I checked my phone, I was surprised by what I saw. I could not believe my eyes not until when I confirmed my mobile money account. From that moment I believed it indeed GiveDirectly was God sent.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
The first cash transfer was spent on purchasing two salon chairs worth UGX 200000 and two hair cutting machines worth UGX 400000 and two curtains worth UGX 60000. I bought one mirror worth UGX 60000. I am planning to spend the rest on paying rent for the salon business and other electrical accessories.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Iam currently working as abarba in some ones shaloon, the little I get is not enough to cater for my family needs. The only solution is to open up my shaloon with Givedirectly money such that I will have proper control over it. I believe with my experience in shaloon work, I will be able to attract and maintain many customers. This will improve my earning for managing the family issues.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My best part of the day is morning hours. Iam able to play while doing some exercise with my children. This makes both of us relax and a feeling of togetherness since most times in aday Iam engaged working at the shaloon.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest challenge I face is lack of money. I have gain enough experience of about five years in shaloon work but only lack finances to start my own. This has hindered my development plans and I can not afford to provide other basic needs in the family.