GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jenifa's Profile
Jenifa's family
Jenifa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
53
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jenifa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I saved 6000 KES of the first lumpsum, bought 3 livestock at a cost of 10000 KES, bought 2 sets of chair at 3600 KES, bought a water tank at 1800 KES, used 8000 KES in repairing my roof, gave out 2000 KES in church and used the rest of the money in buying food and clothing for the family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I can afford daily meals from the money I saved
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying on buying 1 sack of maize ksh 2700, thermos flask ksh 1000, gave her husband ksh 1000, school fees ksh 800, basins ksh 450, pail ksh 280, food stuff at home and kept ksh 2000.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy iron sheets and extend my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We have planned to rebuild my house and expand it since it is small.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I have a house and a family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that we have no source of money and water is a big problem in our area.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am farming.