GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Geophry's Profile
Geophry's family
Geophry
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
39
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Geophry's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($482 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used mst of my second transfer to construct a new house since the previous one was very old. The rest of the money was spent on tilling my farm and buying dry maize because I had a very poor harvest last season following the prolonged drought.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have food consistently in my house and I also have a new house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying clothes and doing farming
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on buying a water pump then continue with farming, this will bring me more income and am also planning to build a new house my current house is almost falling off and it's also licking
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
My first plan is to spend part of the transfer to build a bigger house, because this one is smaller, and is in a bad condition. Secondly, I intend to use another part of the transfer to buy water pump to help me in irrigation of my farm, where I plan to grow vegetables like kales and tomatoes. Lastly, I plan to use the remaining amount to buy a cow that would future provide me with milk for family use.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm very proud of is having built this my house with savings from my casual work.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Inadequate income to buy food for my family is the biggest hardship I have faced.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I'm resting at home, after I have finished my casual work.